Karan Casey 'Hieroglyphs That Tell The Tale'

Regular price €14.95
  1. Hollis Brown
  2. Down in the Glen
  3. Man of God
  4. I’m Still Standing Here
  5. Sixteen Come Next Sunday
  6. In The Gutter
  7. You are the Flower
  8. Doll in Cash’s Window
  9. Hold On
  10. Mary

Karan Casey's latest solo venture is a thing of rare beauty.”- SING OUT

Hieroglyphs That Tell the Tale is Karan’s paeon to justice and freedom being attainable through creativity in a world of the imagination where everything is possible.

Long-awaited new album from Karan Casey, one of the most innovative, provocative and imitated voices in Irish traditional and folk music. Her career has spanned twenty-five years from the early days as a jazz performer in George’s Bistro in Dublin to her heady days in New York with the band Solas to her now established solo career and she has sold over half a million albums.

“Casey’s voice is among the loveliest in folk music and she’s a wonderful interpreter of both contemporary and traditional material.” -BOSTON GLOBE

Hieroglyphs That Tell the Tale is the evocative title of the new album from Waterford singer Karan Casey, which sees her return to a mix of traditional and folk song imbued with a modern twist, sitting alongside some new self-penned songs.  She is joined on vocals by some of her favourite singers, including Karen Matheson, Niamh Dunne, Pauline Scanlon, Maura O'Connell and Aoife O Donovan

"The most soulful singer to emerge in Irish traditional music in the past decade." -THE GLASGOW HERALD

Produced by renowned Scottish musician and Bafta-nominated composer Donald Shaw, the album also features Karan’s long-time musical collaborators Kate Ellis, Niall Vallely, James MacKintoshEwen Vernal, Dirk Powell and Mike McGoldrick as well as younger voices such as Sean Óg Graham & Catriona McKay. While singing songs from contemporary folk writers Janis Ian, Eliza Gilkyson, Patti Griffin, Mick Flannery and Bob Dylan, the album showcases Casey’s impressive talent as a song writer.

As with previous recordings, Karan sense of social justice comes through strongly in her choice of song, each sung with compelling conviction and a new sense of urgency.

More from this collection