Úrnua - Carl Hession, Francis Cunningham & Eimear Coughlan

Regular price €14.95
  1. Sporting Galway / The White Plains / Threadneedle Reel (Reels)
  2. The Flying Magpies / A Roll of the Dice / Just Another Dilemma (Slip Jigs)
  3. The Granddaughter’s Dream (Waltz)
  4. Cullivan from Cavan / The Catskill Pines / Knefsky Prospect (Reels)
  5. Trip to Letterkenny / Morning Gallop (Slow Reel & Gigue)
  6. Links by the Bay / Salthill Prom (Slow Reels)
  7. The Aran Cruiser / A Trip to the Village / The Drinker and the Whiskey (Jigs)
  8. Blackrock Tower / Claddagh Basin / The Eyre Square Buzz (Reels)
  9. Celtic Storm (Adagio & Classical Gigue)
  10. The Rambles of Mike / The Laughing Spoons (Jigs)
  11. Down the Hill to Carlow / Jackie the Adopted (March & Reel)
  12. Myles the Man / Greg the Great / The Corrib Suite Crew (Reels)
  13. Minuet / Sprightly Spring (Minuet & Waltz)
  14. Tim the Gardener / The Final Round (Polkas)
  15. The Ballybrit Dip / Up and Over (Slow Reels)
  16. Farewell to Jim / That’s More of It (Jigs)
  17. Inishbofin (Slow Air)
  18. Micky Ward’s / Portland McCann’s (Reels)

“The bloom of youth and the experienced master making music across the generations” Kevin Crawford.

 “An album that captures Carl Hession’s inventiveness through the beautifully complementary playing among Francis Cunningham, Eimear Coughlan and himself.  Rarely have I heard piano, concertina, and harp so nimbly and enjoyably joined than on this recording” Dr. Earle Hitchner.

Carl Hession is one of Ireland’s most revered piano players, prolific composers and sought after musical arrangers. His work demonstrates diversity from traditional to classical and jazz to modern. Although he is highly regarded as a pianist in all the different facets, it is his compositions and arrangements that signify his expertise. He has arranged music for established orchestras throughout the world from The Boston Pops to The Liverpool Philharmonic and also The Dubai Symphony. This project harks back to his roots composing reels, jigs, slip jigs, polkas and semi-classical compositions.

Francis Cunningham and Eimear Coughlan are two of the finest exponents of concertina and harp with a strong emphasis on the Clare tradition in which they are steeped. Playing together since the age of 15, they are stylistically and instrumentally befitting of such a project. Together this dynamic trio from both Galway and Clare are showcasing and imparting the music of Carl Hession with revere and class.

Throughout the recording, Hession’s string arrangements preformed by ConTempo String Quartet’s highly acclaimed Bogdan Sofei and the Kilfenora Céilí Band’s cellist Sharon Howley add verve to the tunes. Also featuring on the album is fellow Galweigan, Jim Higgins on percussion. 

Úrnua” in modern Irish means “fresh” or “brand-new”, echoing the novel compositions, the unique combination of instruments and highlighting the fact that this is both Eimear and Francis’ first recording. In addition to the album is an autobiographical book comprising of all 40 compositions and a summary of Hession's musical accolades to date.


More from this collection