Eoin Dillon 'Pondelorum'

Regular price €14.95
  1. Dancing on the Radio / Port Con Durham
  2. Marina's Kitchen
  3. Pondelorum, featuring Bill Harte's Jig
  4. Christchurch Bells
  5. Cock of the walk
  6. Reel Hugo Chavez
  7. Flor Begley,the Piper fromCrossbarry
  8. Uisce fé thalamh
  9. I shot the Donkey
  10. Swan song 

Dublin uilleann piper & KÍLA founding member EOIN DILLON's third solo album ‘PONDELORUM’

‘Pondelorum’ is Eoin Dillon’s third solo album having released his debut solo recording ‘The Third Twin’ in 2005 (named one of the best traditional albums of the year by RTE Radio One) followed by 2010’s ‘The Golden Mean’.  

Eoin has been playing the pipes and whistles since the age of 15.  As a founding member of KÍLA he released 11 albums and toured the world with performances at  festivals including Glastonbury, Womad (Aus/NZ) and Montreux Jazz Festival.  As a solo artist, Eoin has guested with U2, Baaba Maal, Sinead O Connor, Donal Lunny & Jane Sibery.  He composed the music with Kíla for 2 Oscar nominated animation films in 2012 & 2015 - while his solo compositional work on ‘Ireland’s Wild River’ was nominated in the Best Music category at the 2015 Emmy Awards.

Over ten new compositions, ‘Pondelorum’ captures Eoin’s characterful, blistering and playful performance in full flight and showcases his innate skill as “a composer of first class tunes” (Irish Music Magazine).  As for the theme of the album Eoin says “I'm not sure if there is a theme that I can put my finger on.  I tried to record a few times but couldn’t or it wasn’t working, but when I began writing wee stories it seemed to give me the start I needed.  It was a very enjoyable experience - we took our time and people just seemed to fit in.  For me, if I can put it into words, the album is a moment in time, a celebration of people and our history and the road we have travelled.”

‘Pondelorum’ features input from a host of musical collaborators including Mícheál Ó Súibhleabháin on harpsichord, Brian Hogan on bass and and Graham Watson on guitars and mandolin.  The album was recorded in stages – initial recordings took place in Ó Súibhleabháin’s home in Tipperary, the piano was recorded in the Unitarian Church on Stephens Green with the rest taking shape in Watson’s Floodplain Studio, Clontarf.

More from this collection