John Spillane 'Life in an Irish Town'

Regular price €14.95
  1. Life in an Irish Town
  2. Graiguenamanagh
  3. Fethard Town
  4. Castleisland
  5. Near Cootehill Town
  6. Kiltimagh
  7. Castlepollard
  8. The Ferry Arms
  9. An Spailpín Fánach
  10. The Ballad of Patrick Murphy
  11. All the ways You wander


John Spillane released his 9th studio album, ‘Life In An Irish Town’in September 2013. The album, his first since 2011’s ‘A Rock To Cling To”, is the soundtrack to the forthcoming TG4 series ‘Spillane an Fánaí’ (Spillane The Wanderer).

Spillane an Fánaí is a heart-warming and revealing six part entertainment series presented by singer/ songwriter John Spillane. Combining off-the-cuff encounters with local people, interviews and music sequences, John Spillane spends a week in six different locations, working in a pub and venturing out to meet a host of locals in search of musical inspiration for his songwriting in the uniqueness and character of small town life.

Spillane an Fánaí is a fascinating Irish-speaking exploration of the history and personality of rural towns outside of the traditional Gaeltacht areas.

The towns John visits are Fethard in Tipperary, Graiguenamanagh in Kilkenny, Cootehill in Cavan, Castleisland in Kerry, Castlepollard in Westmeath and Kiltimagh in Mayo.

The album features 11 tracks, including a re-recording of ‘All the Ways You Wander’ from 1997’s ‘Wells of the World’ album.

More from this collection