Loreena McKennitt 'Lost Souls'

Regular price €14.95
  1. Spanish Guitars and Night Plazas

  2. A Hundred Wishes

  3. Ages Past, Ages Hence

  4. The Ballad of the Fox Hunter

  5. Manx Ayre

  6. La Belle Dame Sans Merci

  7. Sun, Moon and Stars

  8. Breaking of the Sword

  9. Lost Souls

Brand New Album from multi-instrumentalist Loreena McKennitt

 Loreena McKennitt's first release of original material since 2006, Lost Souls is a rich and culturally eclectic recording, which one has come to expect from this unique artist. It is a rich tapestry of contemporary thoughts woven with threads from the Celts to the Bedouins, stitched with the sounds of a diverse collection of musical voices, including nyckelharpa, oud, kanoun, a military band and flamenco guitar.

 An exotic musical journey like no other…. Produced by the award-winning Canadian singer/composer herself, the nine-track album was recorded from May through October 2017 in Hamilton, Canada at Catherine North Studios and at Peter Gabriel's Real World Studios near Bath, in South West England.

 Several of the songs were initiated by McKennitt some time ago. Others have been progressively taking shape in the midst of more recent projects and journeys. A few draw on the poetry of John Keats and W.B. Yeats, while another evokes a distinct Middle Eastern flavour. In Lost Souls they all come together to create an artistically diverse and timely collection beautifully presented with a 24 page booklet.

More from this collection